Campiagn Update

Republicans have held the mayoral seat 26 of the last 27 years.  However, in the past few years many republicans have changed their party preference to independent. Similar to a move made by San Diego County District Attorney Summer Stephan who has now changed her party preference from republican to independent. Independent turnout could result in sizable support for republican candidates. United San Diego‘s goal is to change the hearts and minds of independent and undecided voters to elect the first LGBTQ mayor Todd Gloria.

Democrats out-register Republicans 41% to 21% but 46% of likely voters are undecided. Which could result in significant support for a republican candidate. United San Diego is here to sway those undecided voters to support Gloria for mayor.

A Union-Tribune/10 News poll places Gloria ahead of Bry by more than a 2-1 ratio among likely voters. However, this poll was completed prior to republican Sherman joining the race which could lead to an upset if undecided voters come out to support Sherman.    



Gavin Newsom
Governor of California

Toni Atkins
President pro Tempore of the California State Senate

Anthony Rendon,
Speaker, California State Assembly

Fiona Ma
California State Treasurer

Jerry Brown,
34th and 39th Governor of California

Nathan Fletcher,
San Diego County Supervisor

Mary Salas,
Chula Vista Mayor

Serge Dedina,
Imperial Beach Mayor

Mara Elliott,
San Diego City Attorney

Chris Ward,
San Diego City Councilmember

Cori Schumacher,
Carlsbad City Councilmember

Colin Parent,
La Mesa City Councilmember

All Assemblymembers of the California State Assembly Democratic Caucus


AFSCME Local 3299

American Federation of Teachers (AFT) Guild Local 1931

Environmental Health and Justice Campaign

Equality California

International Union of Operating Engineers Local 12

Laborers’ International Union of North America, Local 89

National Electrical Contractors Association, San Diego

Pacific Beach Democratic Club

Rancho Penasquitos Democratic Club

San Diego City Firefighters, IAFF Local 145

San Diego County Democratic Party

San Diego County Democrats for Equality

San Diego County Young Democrats

San Diego City Firefighters Association, International

Association of Fire Fighters Local 145

San Diego Municipal Employees Association

San Diego Police Officers Association

SEIU Local 221

Veterans Democratic Club of San Diego County

Victory Fund

YIMBY Democratic Club of San Diego County

Contact Us

If you would like to know more email us below.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt